Thursday, August 28, 2014

AAFCA announces its 2015 Special Achievement Award Winners

The African American Film Critics Association has just announced the dates for their 2015 Awards Ceremony as well as the recipients of Special Achievement awards. The award winners are Donna Langley (Universal Pictures Chairwoman), Stephanie Allain (Los Angeles Film Festival Director), Franklin Leonard (Black co-founder), Susan King (LA Times entertainment reporter) and Debra Martin Chase (producer). Read below for the full press release:

(LOS ANGELES) – The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA), will honor Universal Pictures Chairwoman, Donna Langley; Los Angeles Film Festival Director, Stephanie Allain; Black, co-founder, Franklin Leonard with its Special Achievement Award for career excellent during its annual award show on February 4th Hollywood. The organization has also selected LA Times entertainment reporter Susan King as the 2015 reciepient of its Roger Ebert Award and producer Debra Martin Chase, who will receive the Ashley Boone Award.

"We are more than delighted with our distinguished group of honorees for 2015," says AAFCA president, Gil Robertson. “Each of them have achieved a level of excellence with their body of work in their respective crafts. They are examples who are to be admired and the members of AAFCA look forward to celebrating their achievements."

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the largest black film critics' organization in the United States, representing television, radio, print and online critics. Annually, the organization presents awards in 12 categories in addition to five Special Achievement Honors. The organization also produces panels and workshops with film festival partners nationwide and oversees an internship program for next gen film journalists at Clark Atlanta University.

For more information about the organization visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment